Forums > Electric Guitar > like seriously no way, whats up with this
Jump:
Forums > Electric Guitar > like seriously no way, whats up with this
Original message:229 days 4 hours 58 minutes ago
0  
Member: Cargen
79
WebCred
http://www.ioffer.com/users/pp377



go there, look at his prices? most sell for around 280. WHAT! there is some catch right?

i mean yeah there made in china... but it does have the Gibson logo, i am confused as hell.
My music recommendations:
Reply:229 days 2 hours 27 minutes ago
Member: Jippy
    0  
71
WebCred
Looks like they're probably counterfeit... you should buy one and tell us what it's like.
Reply:229 days 2 hours 8 minutes ago
Member: bachmirage
    + 1  
567
WebCred
there are a ton of listings similiar to these on ebay. i suspect this is the same group doing this. ebay constantly warns it's customers of fraudulent chinese ebay listings. i would be extremely leary of this site and would avoid buying unless you have $300 just lying around that you don't mind throwing away.......
My gear recommendations:
  
Reply:228 days 20 hours 53 minutes ago
Member: Lee
    + 1  
6
WebCred
The guy is telling you they are counterfeit. His website says

"We have a lot of guitars in every imaginable brand, and other musical instruments. All the musical instruments are fabricated in our China factory, and all the guitar accessories, like pickups, etc., are imported from Korea. We always guarantee that
all the musical instrument we offer have the same sound and same quality like the same – type – guitars you buy in your local musical instrument store, because customer satisfaction is always our number one priority."

They are fabricated in China.
Reply:228 days 16 hours 13 minutes ago
Member: SATAN
    + 3  
701
WebCred
welp, i just bought one. i will tell you guys how it goes. i used paypal to avoid any wrongdoing and give myself some insurance. i bought the zakk wylde custom shop worn look gibson. the picture shows one that looks like a real custom shop, and i expect this to be a complete fraud, but i figured no one else would take the chance. i will let you all know what happens. i paid a total of $308.00 with the $110 doller shipping charge.this will either be the first to good to be true offer that turns out real, or he will try to screw me..... and yes, i will screw him back, only deeper and harder than he ever really wants it.
My music recommendations:
My gear recommendations:
  
without me, METAL is just aluminum, ROCK is just a pebble..... oh yeah, and Dont forget to +1 me! it might make you feel better!
Reply:228 days 13 hours 50 minutes ago
Member: Xarkzila
    0  
1961
WebCred
I considered it too. Not for myself, but we generally stock the studio with low priced guitars. (Though I do have a couple in there that are worth a bit.) Probably would have taken the plunge, but then I just spent a lot on some studio upgrades, so studio cash is a little thin. (I could buy it myself, but then I can't write it off!)
My gear recommendations:
  
"The music industry is a cruel and shallow money trench. A long plastic hallway where theives and pimps run free and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side..."
http://www.cleargravy.com
Reply:228 days 13 hours 57 minutes ago
Member: RuiOlasBrandon 's
    0  
250
WebCred
Nice, then tell us something.
My music recommendations:
My gear recommendations:
  
Hey, I'm stupid!
Reply:228 days 12 hours 3 minutes ago
Member: SATAN
    0  
701
WebCred
rest assured, my peeps at guitar.com will know IMMEDIATELY upon me getting it (if it actually ever comes) what it is like and if it is for real, and then, if for some odd reason it IS for real, i would expect all of you to immediately follow the link and buy out the stock of them... i call all of the zakk wylds!!! haha, but seriously, i do have some hope. i have been in contact with teh seller and he assures me that it will be sent out in 7-10 days.... we will see....
My music recommendations:
My gear recommendations:
  
without me, METAL is just aluminum, ROCK is just a pebble..... oh yeah, and Dont forget to +1 me! it might make you feel better!
Reply:228 days 5 hours 36 minutes ago
Member: Cargen
    0  
79
WebCred
Thank you SATAN, for risking your pocket book :),

If its real, there is plenty for everyone in guitar.com to get anything they want. and then sell it for 4x as much lol
My music recommendations:
Reply:227 days 13 hours 14 minutes ago
Member: Hippieway
    + 2  
702
WebCred
Satan is kind, but everybody here including Satan knows these guys are ripping off Gibson. Not that I'm overly worried about Gibson but they are also ripping off all the more naive players that are truly getting robbed. My money says you can get a better Epi than the "Gibson" they are selling. The wrong here is the headstock says Gibson instead of Cheap Guitar from China
My gear recommendations:
  
Reply:227 days 6 hours 29 minutes ago
Member: Cargen
    0  
79
WebCred
True Hippieway, but its always worth a try, i mean if these guys are using actually gibson parts, then it should be just like a Gibson. cause everyone makes parts in Korea.
My music recommendations:
Reply:227 days 4 hours 24 minutes ago
Member: JTC
    0  
788
WebCred
I think it's awesome that SATAN decided to purchase one of these guitars. I am really interested to know if the guitar is exact. I have a Les Paul copy that was made in Korea back in the 70's (I don't really know the age). When I changed pickups and put on tunamatic bridge I discovered that the pickup rings were slightly a differnet size and the new bridge had to be filed in order to slide on to the existing posts.

I'm sure SATAN will give us the full scoop on the differences between this guitar and an actual les paul.

My music recommendations:
My gear recommendations:
  
Reply:226 days 22 hours 21 minutes ago
Member: SATAN
    + 1  
701
WebCred
Welp, here is what ive got so far for you guys......

as i suspected, some fishy things have come up during this transaction. he said he is actually in china, but when he sends me messages, they are in united states eastern time..... and i am in a different area of the world right now..... thats #1.... number 2 is the fact that he has 10 of the guitar i purcdhased available, yet it is 7-10 days before they are even shipped, #3- the pictures are not his. for instance, the zakk wylde worn custom shop bullseye i purchased is actually the pictures from an EBAY auction from a guy that actually has a REAL one. he used all of that guys pics except for the pic of the back of the headstock where it shows the serial number.

after all of this, i just sent him a message saying that if my order was not shipped within 24hours with a tracking number, i would notify paypal and ioffer.com of his fraud. soooooo, he should be sending me an angry message soon. i will let you know how it goes.
My music recommendations:
My gear recommendations:
  
without me, METAL is just aluminum, ROCK is just a pebble..... oh yeah, and Dont forget to +1 me! it might make you feel better!
Reply:226 days 19 hours 9 minutes ago
Member: Xarkzila
    0  
1961
WebCred
SATAN never cuts anyone any slack and he's always right there when you screw up. Gotta wonder.

As far as email goes... It depends on where the server is located as to the time stamp OR some email services allow you to check your own timezone. Many start defaulted at EST. It's not really an indicator of an issue, but it also wouldn't give me any warm fuzzies.

Hey, at least you're still in contact with him and that's a plus. If it is a ripoff, at least you'll make him work for his money! (There's no doubt you'll also "reward" him for his sins!)
My gear recommendations:
  
"The music industry is a cruel and shallow money trench. A long plastic hallway where theives and pimps run free and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side..."
http://www.cleargravy.com
Reply:225 days 12 hours 8 minutes ago
Member: SATAN
    0  
701
WebCred
alrighty then guys (and as of late, many gals!) here is the latest on my transaction with Mr. i make guitars at such a cheap price with such good quality it is impossible.......

i let him know that if i did not get a ship confirmation within 24 hour i would report him, he immediately closed the transaction, and by that i mnean he took my dough, i still can not get ahold of him or find out if it has been sent...................... what shall i do you ask? welp, i think i will try for a couple hours to spam this piece of craps mailbox letting him know i am pissed and then report him to everyone on the damn internet..... but who knows... maybe a guitar will show up at my door...... NOT! DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS GUY YET!
My music recommendations: